My Parents’ Best Reward

People say, “Life is short. You have to make the best out of it every day because you never know if tomorrow would still come.” In short verdict, wise people say, “Live your life as if it is your last.” Personally, I agree with these quotes.

Life is beautiful to live by. Every single day, I’m always blessed and so blissful to have the chance to live mine. Who doesn’t experience complexities, hurt, dilemmas and struggles? Who doesn’t feel happiness and joy? All of us, in fact, had experienced them. No matter how small you possess or how numerous wealth you have in this world, you’re not excused. However, these occurrences – happy or sad – make us wiser and stronger in special ways we never know.

After my shift last Saturday afternoon, I decided to go home to my parents’ house to stop the urge of being with them again after a long week of work. I just had a heart to heart talk with them about everything that has been happening while I’m gone. After an hour or two, I went to my mother’s bed room to have a rest. Since I don’t have a bed room yet, I needed to use hers for the mean time. I woke up at around seven in the evening and I prepared to budge so I could go back to my boarding house (my second home).

While I was on my way to my second home, the insight of being grateful to embrace my own life suddenly came into my mind. I heard a lot of people lose their own lives because of accident, excruciating sickness and some of them just merely committed suicides to end their sufferings. I feel pity for them for the reason that they ended their lives sooner. Of course, we can never blame them or even judge them for what they’ve done because we were raised in different ways. How we perceive life depends on what we believe in, how much we know our Creator and how people influenced us in everything they do.

I acknowledge there were times I felt that my existence in this world was nothing but a trash. I almost asked God to conclude my life because of the consideration that I really don’t have much to offer but harm and disappointments. There were times I let down my parents. I let them feel unfortunate of having me as a big “headache” of the family. My father once yelled at me to leave the house to take responsibility of my actions and I took it very seriously. But this judgment was, in fact, the opposite of everything. My parents didn’t look at me like the way I thought I was. The truth was, they really loved me; they were trying to make me understand the reality of living and taking responsibility of my own actions and to become the man that I could become for the rest of my life. Thus, I was the only one who’s thinking that my existence was worthless.

As days passed by, I came to realize that everything has its reason to happen. I was able to know my limitations; I was able to accept myself wholeheartedly. And I look in to that so deeply as my parent’s best reward for me.

That was five years ago. Now, I am very much able to stand on my own; I devoted myself to give my best in everything I do; and wherever I go, I have my faith with me – faith to myself, especially my faith to God. My parents made the right choice for grounding me on that point of my life so I could realize what I did are wrong. They just simply gave me a second chance to live again through their unconditional love and I’m thanking them so much for that.

Mutely, I was sitting still on the passenger’s seat, heading my way to my boarding house. Many passengers came in and out from one place to another. The wind from the open window blew softly on my face, touching my skin with love. My phone,  along with my earphone was on, I was listening to a random radio station. That’s when I heard these very extraordinary lyrics of a song from an unknown singer. Tears covered my eyes when I heard this beautiful voice, singing:

If you ever need a place to cry

Baby, come to me,

Come to me.

Always know that you were born to fly

But you can come to me.

If the world breaks your heart

No matter where on earth you are,

You can come to me.

Though I’m living in different side of the world, exactly three rides away from my parents, their love will stay with me and my love will stay with them. “No matter where I go, I’m certain that I can count on them and no matter where on earth I am and if ever I need a place to cry, I can always come to God.” In fact, you can too.

6 thoughts on “My Parents’ Best Reward

Leave a comment